A Winter Afternoon in the Garden

20 Oct

Upon my return to the hotel I learned that this afternoon would be the only good weather of my remaining time in Cape Town.  After Table Mountain my Number Two destination was the botanical garden. Visitor coordinator Colleen convinced me that this was my best plan for the afternoon. Next stop: Kirstenbosch.

DSC_1189

Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden is situated on the eastern side of a mountain in the city of Cape Town. The afternoon I spent there roaming the hillside pathways was an overcast, breezy day, but without rainfall. I enjoyed a late lunch at their restaurant before I began wandering. Here are some landscape shots that show the lay of the land. Even in winter there are many plants that are in blossom.

DSC_1078 DSC_1088 DSC_1102 DSC_1104 DSC_1126

DSC_1146 DSC_1158 DSC_1160 DSC_1165 DSC_1185

I am from St. Louis, Missouri in the US. We have a fine botanical garden in my hometown as well. I was very proud to see the signpost at the entrance to the garden indicating the distance in kilometers to my home.

DSC_1075

3 Responses to “A Winter Afternoon in the Garden”

  1. The Rider October 20, 2014 at 8:12 am #

    I am glad you had such a good time in South Africa! We cycle around “that mountain” every year in March- Table Mountain is one of my favorite places in the world, all around…

    • Rosemarie October 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      So I am confused about the various mountains in the Cape Town area. There is Table Mountain, Lion’s Head, and Signal Hill. Is Kirstenbosch on the eastern slope of Table Mountain. And where do the Twelve Apostles fit in. Is that a mountain too, or just a formation which is part of Table Mountain? I am so used to driving and walking around a city to get my bearings, and I did not have that opportunity in Cape Town.

      • The Rider October 20, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

        All part of Table Mountain. Our cycle race around it is 109 km…

Leave a Reply

