High End African Souvenirs

18 Oct

No city tour of Cape Town is complete without a stop at a jewelry store selling diamonds and other gems. Ours was no exception. At this store they offered a demonstration of the process of cutting a diamond. In addition there were many expensive African souvenirs on sale. The whole store was very eye-catching. I am not a big fan of expensive jewelry, but I admit that I was bowled over by the beauty of Tanzanite, a beautiful and rare deep blue gemstone found only in one small vein in Tanzania. I was tempted to buy one, but resisted. Here are some photos of ways to spend a lot of money.

DSC_0991 DSC_0992 DSC_0993 DSC_1004 DSC_1005 DSC_1006 DSC_1008 DSC_1010 DSC_1012 DSC_1013

Blue Tanzanite! African dolls! Carved ostrich eggs!

2 Responses to “High End African Souvenirs”

  1. Linda Arthur Tejera October 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm #

    You’re stronger than I think I would be. I don’t think I could have resisted something in that gorgeous Tanzanite! I love those rings! 🙂

Leave a Reply

