Hidden Highlight

18 Oct

Anyone who travels to Cape Town looks forward to seeing magnificent Table Mountain, which towers over the city. That was Number One on my list of sites to visit. I really wanted to take the cable car to the top. The day of my city tour, however, visibility was zero and the winds were strong. When we arrived at the lower cable car station, this is what we found.

DSC_1016 DSC_1018 DSC_1020

During my three-day stay in Cape Town Table Mountain eventually did clear, and I was able to view it in all its majesty. The winter winds remained strong though, and the cable car was closed. I guess I will just have to return another time.

DSC_1585 DSC_1791

Here is the view from my hotel and from the highway returning from Wine Country.

2 Responses to “Hidden Highlight”

  1. Mama Cormier October 18, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

    Knowing that our summer is South Africa’s winter would you suggest going there this time of year if you could plan it all over again?

    • Rosemarie October 18, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

      Winter is not the best time to visit Cape Town, but it was the only time that was available to me.

Leave a Reply

