Winter in Cape Town

14 Oct

Who’s that knocking on the door? Really? What time is it? I haven’t slept that long….I had a scheduled city tour at 9 A.M. that first day in Cape Town. The hotel staff was waking me up because the van had just arrived at 8 A.M., and they were waiting for me. I got ready as quickly as I could, and apologized to the other tourists in the van. What a dreary and rainy day! Typical, I understand, of winter on the Western Cape. With the rain and eight passengers in the van, it was difficult to pick out and photograph sights as we passed. I ended up with many blurred pictures. Very unsatisfactory photography for me. That said here are a few taken in the downtown area.

This is what I mean by poor visibility.

DSC_0889

In front of The High Court Civil Annex we found some remnants of apartheid.

 

 

DSC_0893

And our guide Darrol engaging in “civil disobedience”.

 

 

DSC_0895

St. George’s Mall pedestrian walkway

 

 

 

DSC_0897

Palm trees and a traffic robot.

 

 

 

DSC_0902

The Castle of Good Hope

 

 

DSC_0908 DSC_0911

Here I am looking a little ragged.

 

 

 

DSC_0915

Castle of Good Hope with the train station behind.

DSC_0921

 

Cape Town City Hall

 

DSC_0914 DSC_0925

Here I am again standing in front of the balcony where Nelson Mandela delivered one of his major speeches.

DSC_0926

5 Responses to “Winter in Cape Town”

  1. de Wets Wild October 14, 2014 at 2:32 am #

    I see you’re calling the traffic light a “robot” like we locals do Rosemarie! Africa’s crept into your blood for sure! 😀

    • Rosemarie October 14, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

      A much more interesting term than traffic light.

  2. Just Another Nature Enthusiast October 14, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

    Rosemarie-
    Oh… I like that term! Much more appropriate; especially these days when they can blink, direct traffic, photograph violators, and do more than just “light!”

    Loved the photo tour 🙂
    -Jane

Leave a Reply

