Final Countdown

27 Jun

On July 1 I will begin my big adventure in Africa. My first destination is Cape Town, South Africa, and I am keeping my eye on the weather reports for my three-day stay. It looks to be a wet one.

Screen shot 2014-06-27 at 8.39.11 AM

13 Responses to “Final Countdown”

  1. The Rider June 27, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    I really hope you have a great trip to South Africa! It is just the wrong time of the year for Cape Town, it is like a baby at the moment, windy and wet… March is the best time of year for the Mother City. But then- any day in Cape Town is a good day- I hope you will still get to see and do amazing things.

    • Rosemarie June 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Thank you for your good wishes. Rosemarie

  2. Angeline M June 27, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

    Wow…it’s time! Have a great trip. Looking forward to all the photos.

    • Rosemarie June 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Thank you. The photos will come later. I won’t be able to take my computer with me.

      • Angeline M June 27, 2014 at 3:16 pm #

        Oh and you wouldn’t want to take it for sure. Be in the moment and take a big cyber break.

  3. Heyjude June 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    Have a wonderful trip Rosemarie and enjoy breathing in the air of Africa. Head for the Waterfront if it is raining and the Aquarium. One of the best IMO. Some good museums around too. And enjoy the break from technology. I did 🙂

    • Rosemarie June 27, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

      Thanks for the travel tips. I’ll have to make do with whatever weather I have. I do have a question for you. Some people have suggested that I go to Stellenbosch. I know this is wine country, but I am really not a wine connoisseur. Would this still be a good trip, or could I stick closer to the city and go to either Groot or Klein Constantia?

      • Heyjude June 27, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

        Stellenbosch is a lovely area, but you don’t need to go that far unless you want to see the landscape. Constantia is very beautiful too, though I haven’t been to either vineyard. I think you’ll have as good an experience there. And Groot Constantia has a lovely homestead.

        My favourite area though is Franschhoek where there are several good vineyards, but Haute Carbiere is excellent and I would recommend having lunch there. Now that you would not regret.
        http://www.cabriere.co.za/

      • Rosemarie June 27, 2014 at 9:56 pm #

        Thank you, Jude.

  4. Linda Arthur Tejera June 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    Wow, it seems like it actually came fairly quickly! Have a wonderful, safe and memorable trip! Looking forward to the reports! 😀

    • Rosemarie June 28, 2014 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks, Linda. I’m excited and just a little nervous.

  5. jakesprinter August 10, 2014 at 3:49 am #

    Beautiful New site Rosemarie 🙂

    • Rosemarie August 10, 2014 at 3:56 am #

      Thank you. I haven’t been active with my blog since I returned from Africa. I took about 7000 photos and I’ve been purging and editing. Hopefully I can get my story down in the weeks to come. Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

