Weather or not?

26 May

Tempus fugit! I am now at 5 weeks and counting until takeoff to Africa. It’s hard for me to believe that it’s really happening. I am now checking the weather on a regular basis to see what temperatures I might anticipate at my destinations. My hometown of St. Louis, North America, northern hemisphere is heading into midsummer while my African destinations south of the equator, southern hemisphere are nearing midwinter. I expect my hometown temperatures to go up, while those in South Africa and Botswana are likely to go down. Here is today’s weather report:

Our daytimes in St. Louis are hot, but actually not as hot as they were a week ago. Evenings can be quite pleasant.

Screen shot 2014-05-25 at 8.38.00 PM

Here is today’s forecast for Cape Town, South Africa, on the coast where the Atlantic and the Indian Oceans meet. Winter there tends to be wet and cool. It is such a beautiful city. I hope it doesn’t give me just clouds and rain while I am there. Heck, I want to go up Table Mountain and I want to take a helicopter ride around the cape.

Screen shot 2014-05-25 at 8.38.22 PM

Maun, Botswana in winter is in the midst of its dry season. We should be on safari during the annual zebra migration. It is hot and sunny, but not as hot as St. Louis, and it drops to 50 degrees F. at night. That might feel a bit nippy in a tent.

Screen shot 2014-05-25 at 8.38.41 PM

 

This week I will visit the travel doctor to inquire about anti-malaria meds.

8 Responses to “Weather or not?”

  1. juliesokol May 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm #

    Capetown either rains or is cloudy most days through winter,we had a lovely thunder storm last weekend and the wind has picked up. I hope you will be able to go up the cable(although the hike up there is pretty awesome)-you might get blessed with clear days while you’re here.Good luck!

    • Rosemarie May 26, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

      Thanks, Julie. Whatever will be will be. Other hot spots on my list are Kirstenbosch Gardens and perhaps a trip into wine country. Would you recommend Constantia or Stellenbosch? I guess it depends on the amount of time I have. I am already booked for a half day tour of the city and a full day tour out to Cape Point and back. Rosemarie

      • juliesokol May 26, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

        Both are great,Stellenbosch is a must see,and you have to see Constatia as well. Tough choice but you will love either one.
        Ps: Bring warm clothes.

      • Heyjude May 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

        Constantia is close to the city and you may be able to combine that with a trip to Kirstenbosch too. Franschhoek is another beautiful place, just over the mountains from Stellenbosch with loads of wineries and great restaurants. I’d try and get a trip that covers Stellenbosch, Paarl and Franschhoek if you have a day to spare. Or even try arranging a private tour so you can go where you want.

  2. Rosemarie May 26, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    I only have three days in Capetown. The first morning is a 1/2 day tour of the city ending at the V & A Waterfront, then the rest of the day free. The second day is an all day tour out to Cape Point. The third day is free. So I have one afternoon and one full day to do a combination of Kirstenbosch, Table Mountain, a helicopter ride, and a trip to Wine Country. I am not a wine aficionado. I would go there for the scenery and a good meal.

    • CMFowler May 29, 2014 at 12:43 am #

      Great post! I so want to go with you!!! I think you SHOULD go on a helicopter ride! 🙂

      • Rosemarie May 29, 2014 at 2:51 am #

        If the weather is good, I would like to. I want the weather to be good for Table Mountain too.

  3. MJF Images May 30, 2014 at 6:43 am #

    I don’t think you’ll have to worry about mosquitoes or malaria Rosemarie. You’ll be there in the dry season. The Okavango may have some, but just be vigilant about putting bug dope on and you’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

