To Do List…Cape Town’s Big 6

17 May

In July I will set off on a grand adventure…a safari in Botswana, Africa. My adventure in Africa will begin, however, with three days in Cape Town, South Africa. Tourism websites tout the Big 6 of Cape Town, as follows: Victoria and Alfred (V&A) Waterfront.

VA-Final

Cape Point where the Atlantic and Indian Oceans meet.

Cape-Point-Final

The aerial tramway to Table Mountain.

Table-Mountain-Final

Robben Island.

Robben-Island-Final

Kirstenbosch Botanical gardens.

Kirstenbosch-Final

Groot Constantia vineyards.

Groot-Constantia-Final

 

Who knows if I can do all of these in three days, but I’m sure gonna try.

12 Responses to “To Do List…Cape Town’s Big 6”

  1. The Rider May 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    That is possible in 3 days. But there is so much more to Cape Town as well. Like a walk up Longstreet at night. Just be very careful in the lesser and darker streets at night. We South Africans are usually a very friendly lot, but we do have some vicious criminals too, beware of those… like maybe in most world cities at night… Enjoy your stay a lot!

    • Rosemarie May 17, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks for the input and advice. I am looking forward to my experience in a new city on a new continent. Rosemarie

      • The Rider May 17, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

        Best seafood in Cape Town at Panama Jack’s- in the harbour but not part of the V&A Waterfront.

  2. flippenblog May 17, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    You have to do Klein Constantia as well. The most beautiful vineyard I have ever seen. Close to Groot Constantia. Happy travels to my hometown!

    • Rosemarie May 17, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

      Thank you for the recommendation. I will check out Klein Constantia. Rosemarie

  3. CMFowler May 17, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

    You will have time & I can’t wait to see what you find in Cape Town! If you’d like some other ideas, I wrote a post a while back about my top 10 favorite places to visit in Cape Town. I’m so happy you decided to make a stop here – my favorite city in the world! Hooray! 🙂

    • Rosemarie May 18, 2014 at 1:53 am #

      I will check out your blog post.

  4. Heyjude May 17, 2014 at 11:05 pm #

    Personally I wouldn’t spend too long at the V&A though you’ll visit it as boats leave from there to Robben Island. Try to stop off at Boulders to see the penguins on your way to Cape Point too. Have a fab time Rosemarie 🙂

  5. de Wets Wild May 18, 2014 at 3:11 am #

    Can’t wait to see all the beautiful photographs and read about the lasting memories and impressions you’ll return home with Rosemarie!

    • Rosemarie May 18, 2014 at 3:20 am #

      Thank you. I am getting excited. I think I want to book a helicopter flight.

  6. pdjpix June 8, 2014 at 8:08 am #

    So glad you called it a “to do” list and not a “bucket list”. Hope you enjoyed it. Regards Peet

    • Rosemarie June 8, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      Not there yet. That’s coming up in July. 🙂

Leave a Reply

