It’s the Bloomin’ Gardens

20 Apr

It’s a little more than two months before I cross the Atlantic and the equator to begin my adventure on the  “Dark Continent”. Before my safari in Botswana, I will spend several days in Cape Town, South Africa. Cape Town, it so happens, is National Geographic’s #1 Travel Destination for 2014. There are so many things to do and see there, but one of the sites near the top of my list is Kirstenbosch Gardens underneath the dramatic Table Mountain. Though I will be there in their winter, I still plan to enjoy some time walking through the gardens and among the treetops on their brand new treetop elevated path which opens in May.

DSC_0883

(MOBOT. Even the parking lot is beautiful and full of tulips.)

We have beautiful gardens here in St. Louis, Missouri as well. On Saturday mornings (and Wednesdays too), you can enter the Missouri Botanical Garden for free between 7 and 9 A.M. That’s where I was yesterday…along with every other photographer in the city. Everyone there was carrying a camera, whether an iphone or the most complicated and elaborate equipment available. I took 200 photos with my DSLR. Below is a sampling. The tulips and daffodils were in full bloom.

DSC_0886 DSC_0896 DSC_0913 DSC_0918 DSC_0920 DSC_0921 DSC_0925 DSC_0930 DSC_0936 DSC_0956 DSC_0982 DSC_0989 DSC_0992 DSC_0998

Japanese tea house. Unfortunately the large Japanese garden was not yet open for the season yesterday. Squeezing myself around the tea house though,I was able to photograph these flowering cherry trees.

DSC_1005 DSC_1006 DSC_1009 DSC_1032 DSC_1040 DSC_1052

Ostrich ferns in the Chinese garden.

DSC_1057

Dale Chihuly’s glass sculpture decorates the entryway.

DSC_1074

7 Responses to “It’s the Bloomin’ Gardens”

  1. Angeline M April 20, 2014 at 3:36 pm #

    You took some wonderful photos! Happy Easter!

    • Rosemarie April 20, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you. It was a beautiful day. Happy Easter to you also. Rosemarie

  2. Just Another Nature Enthusiast April 20, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

    Beautiful collection. I enjoyed walking through your path of photos.

    • Rosemarie April 20, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

      Thank you. The camera buffs were out in force.

  3. MJF Images May 9, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

    Great flowers, especially that last one.

  4. CMFowler May 10, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    Oh my sweet friend, Rosemarie! Somehow – and I feel so AWFUL about this, your new blog did not come up in my reader?! Today I decided to go on a hunt for it and I found all of these lovely posts about your upcoming adventure; all of your amazing photographs! Wow, have I been missing out!
    I am SO excited for you as you get ready to embark across the sea! The only thing I wish is that I was going with you. I can’t wait to see the photos you are going to bring back and read the words you are going to write. My heart did a little dance today when I found your new blog. Trust me, it is now showing up on my reader and I will be following it like a baby lion follows it’s mother! I’m counting down the days with you!

    • Rosemarie May 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

      Mahree, It’s all happening because of comments you made about my photos. So I’m embarking on the biggest adventure trip of my life. I bought a wide angle lens yesterday, my one new photographic purchase. Hopefully, it will give me some fantastic landscapes in Cape Town, the Okavango Delta, and at Victoria Falls. I’m so glad you commented on my posts. I look forward to my African adventure. Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

