Image

This is So Not Me

16 Mar

Today I began shopping for appropriate clothing to take on a safari. Color is the problem. I am someone who likes to wear bright col0rs anchored with a basic black. This color scheme is not the best out in the bush where neutrals are recommended. In case you didn’t know, mosquitos are actually attracted to black. UGH! So I bought this hot little number of light denim shirt and khaki wash and wear pants. They will be perfect, but they are so NOT me.

CIMG4729

21 Responses to “This is So Not Me”

  1. Angeline M March 17, 2014 at 1:00 am #

    You’ll be glad when you don’t become a feast for the mosquitos.

  2. Heyjude March 17, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

    You’ll be glad of those long sleeves in the evening! And cover up your ankles too. A good Deet lotion is necessary. You can wear your brights in the evening though when it is dark. I wore lots of vests with beige tops and khaki coloured shorts, but always wore long trousers in the evening! You’re going in the winter aren’t you, so take a warm fleece top too.

    • Rosemarie March 17, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

      Did you use anti-malarial meds? If so, which one?

      • Heyjude March 17, 2014 at 11:15 pm #

        I did, though I was there in the summer and the wet season in Botswana and Zimbabwe. I can’t remember what I took, it’s a long time ago, but I had two kinds. One pill I tool once a week and the other kind I took daily. The weekly one made me feel very sick, best to take after a meal. I avoided Larium as it is known to have some odd side effects.
        You have to start before you enter the area and carry on for a few weeks after you return as well. I don’t know the cost in the US but they are, or at least were, expensive to buy here. Your doctor or travel clinic should be able to advise the best medication for you.

      • Rosemarie March 17, 2014 at 11:26 pm #

        Thanks. I am trying to get as much info as I can. I know some people start taking the meds and then stop them because of side effects. Some people don’t take them at all. Many people take them and don’t feel the effects.

      • Heyjude March 19, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

        Oddly, although I usually get bitten to death by any biting insect, I don’t think I got a single bite that trip except for sand fleas. I wouldn’t go into an area where malaria is present without taking meds though, despite the unpleasantness. Malaria is far more unpleasant. A good Deet lotion is essential, although it is not pleasant stuff. Try to get a spray with 50% or more which will last several hours.

  3. pix & kardz March 18, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    i actually came here via your former blog, in search of a weekly photo challenge on ‘inside’ and somehow landed here. your trip sounds exciting, although this is not you πŸ™‚ thanks for the heads-up on the colour black and mosquitos. i had no idea!

    • Rosemarie March 18, 2014 at 6:17 pm #

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Mosquitos and black….who knew???!!!

  4. pommepal March 18, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

    Pleased to find you again Rosemarie via your old blog and a comment you left on my blog. Looking forward to the cyber visit to Africa with you.

    • pommepal March 18, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

      PS I love the Safari look, so 1970’s… πŸ™‚

      • Rosemarie March 18, 2014 at 11:03 pm #

        Thank you. I’ve done some adventurous things in my life, but I think the safari will be the biggest adventure of them all.

      • Rosemarie March 18, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

        Is that what you call it? I call it boring. Rosemarie

      • pommepal March 19, 2014 at 1:23 am #

        Ah but you will feel the part and the lions won’t eat you… πŸ™‚

  5. Emilio Pasquale March 27, 2014 at 12:07 am #

    Your wardrobe? You’re worried about your wardrobe? Woman, everyone here envies you right about now. Don’t worry about how you look. Just take lots of photos!

    • Rosemarie March 27, 2014 at 12:13 am #

      LOL LOL LOL

      • CMFowler May 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

        Hah! I think you’d look good in anything! Actually, one of the reasons people dress in neutral colors is that animals (some of them) shy away from bright colors. I actually have not heard that mosquitos are attracted to black (I’ll look into that for you) but I do know that Tsetse flys ARE. They like black and blue. Trust me, you will feel more at home in those neutral colors because everyone else will be wearing them & btw, I’m a “black wearing” person too – except when in Africa!

      • Rosemarie May 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

        Thanks for the clarification.

  6. flippenblog May 18, 2014 at 4:17 am #

    You ban buy all you need for malaria and mosquitoes in Cape Town. It will be a lot cheeper here. Go to Cape Union Mart at the Waterfront, they have beautiful safari things. All the tourists buy there.

    • Rosemarie May 18, 2014 at 4:21 pm #

      Thank you for the advice. I always overprepare, so I purchased my remaining gear yesterday at REI. My dividends at the store covered a third of the cost, so I didn’t feel too bad. I still have to get my malaria meds and I am not too happy about that, because I am not a person who likes to take pills.

      • flippenblog May 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

        Always better to take it really.

Leave a Reply

