Image

Countdown: Four Months

15 Mar

I have not done a lot of prep work to get ready for my safari in Botswana this summer. I guess one reason is that the safari company did so much of the work for me with reservations and booking. In a couple of months my part will become more intense as I visit the travel doctor about anti-malarial meds and I purchase necessary clothing. I tend to like bright colors and use black as a staple in my wardrobe. Neither of these are good ideas out in the bush. Neutral clothing is recommended, and black is a no-no because mosquitos, those pesky insects that transmit malaria, like it and are attracted to it. I’m learning lots of new information. Insect repellent with DEET, a necessity. The bright orange backpack that I carried all over Europe will also be scrapped for something else neutral.

I have been reading books about Africa and novels set in Africa. Of course, I love the light and purely enjoyable tales of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency set in Gaborone, Botswana. By using a search engine I discovered another series set in Botswana: the Detective Kubu murder mystery series by Michael Stanley (actually two people). The stories are great and include so much local color and information about the culture in Botswana. I have enjoyed the reading immensely even though murders take place, and there are Bushmen poisons with no antidote, and there is muti, charms used by witch doctors, some of whom unscrupulously use human body parts taken from children abducted and murdered. That is the focus of the current book called “Deadly Harvest”. If you like mysteries, I highly recommend checking this one out.

This was my spring break, and my primary goal for my time off was to fully recover from the bad bout of flu I contracted a couple of weeks ago. I can’t remember the last time I was so sick. However, yesterday the weather was beautiful and sunny. I decided to take a leisurely stroll through our famous zoo, and practice photographing animals. I am serious about getting some good shots when I am on safari. Practice, practice, practice. Here are a few examples. I sincerely hope that I will not have the opportunity to see a leopard quite this close up when I am in the bush.

DSC_0913

 

DSC_0908

 

I will probably see more than a few of these in Botswana.

DSC_0916 DSC_0919

 

Speke’s gazelle.

DSC_0944

 

That’s all for now. I’ll put some other photos in my next post. Thank you for visiting.

8 Responses to “Countdown: Four Months”

  1. Angeline M March 15, 2014 at 4:45 am #

    Great photos! Looks like you are preparing well, just like for your Europe trip.

    • Rosemarie March 15, 2014 at 4:48 am #

      Thanks, Angeline. This is my one and only safari, and I want to make the best of it.

  2. Heyjude March 15, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

    I saw so many zebra in Africa that they became as normal as seeing a herd of cows! But they are lovely to photograph with their individual stripes. The one at the foreground of your image looks as if he has had a rough night – a case of bed head hair! I have never seen a mane so untidy!

    Hope you are feeling much better – flu has a nasty habit of knocking you out for a long time.
    J xx

    • Rosemarie March 15, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks, Jude. I just took a long walk in the sun. I’m going much slower than I have in the past, but as they say, one step at a time. I believe that I will be in Botswana during the zebra migration, so I am sure to see many of these guys.

  3. Linda Arthur Tejera March 20, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

    I loved the TV series (Netflix) of The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. Well, I must say your photos of the local wildlife are great. You’re going to get loads of fabulous pics on your safari. I think that is so exciting.

    • Rosemarie March 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

      Thank you. A big adventure, perhaps bigger than the hike in the mountains last summer. It will not be as strenuous.

  4. CMFowler May 10, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

    Just beautiful!
    Have you read “Wildflower” yet? It is the biography of Joan Root and takes place in Eastern Africa. However, I think you would really enjoy it. Her life does had a sad ending – I’m not giving away anything as this is told at the beginning of the book but it definitely conveys the joy of safari. It is one of my favorite reads. 🙂

    • Rosemarie May 10, 2014 at 10:09 pm #

      I’ll check it out. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

