How to End a Safari

13 Jan

h_home

Well, I haven’t even left yet. My safari is five months away, but it is all planned out. I’ve already posted links to my hotel in Cape Town and to the safari in Botswana, everything arranged by Africa Adventure Consultants. I will be ten days out in the bush and in the Okavango Delta in camps. Roughing it with bucket showers. I am looking forward to the experience, but when those ten days are over, I’m going to want some pampering. I usually look for simple, utilitarian accommodations when I travel, but I will make an exception after the safari. I want luxury, and I will get it at the beautiful River Club situated along the Zambezi River above Victoria Falls in Zambia. Every room there overlooks the river…mmmm. I look forward to a river cruise and photographing the falls from every possible perspective, then returning to my comfortable and opulent room by the river. Here is a link to The River Club website.

http://www.wilderness-safaris.com/camps/the-river-club

9 Responses to “How to End a Safari”

  1. Linda Arthur Tejera January 13, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

    It all sounds so wonderful! Especially the luxury ending! I wasn’t able to access the River Club with either Chrome or IE. It could just be their website at the moment cause it does show up on Google!

    • Rosemarie January 13, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

      Strange. I tried the link and it worked for me with Google Chrome.

  2. Heyjude January 13, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    I can’t use the link either, but this works (if it is the same place!)
    http://www.wilderness-safaris.com/camps/the-river-club

    Looks fab!

    • Rosemarie January 13, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

      That’s the spot. This website makes it look even more appealing.

      • Heyjude January 13, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

        Definitely a great place to end the holiday! Nice G&T watching the hippos hopefully 🙂

  3. Angeline M January 18, 2014 at 2:32 am #

    What a wonderful way to end a trip! Love this idea.
    by the way, when I click on your link when you have put a comment or “Like” on my post, it takes me to your other blog, not this new one. Just thought I’d let you know.

    • Rosemarie January 18, 2014 at 2:34 am #

      Thanks, Angeline. I’m not sure I know how to fix that.

  4. mflahertyphoto January 18, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    You’ll have a blast Rosemarie. If you want to photograph the falls from every angle you’ll need to go into Zimbabwe. It costs some money for a visa then of course the entrance fee but it might be worth it if you have the time. You just walk across the bridge, so no need for transport. You have a face-on view of the falls from Zim. If the water is low enough don’t miss Devil’s Pool, which is very close to where you are staying.

    • Rosemarie January 18, 2014 at 9:57 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, Mike. I am staying an extra day so that I might do this. Have you been to Devil’s Pool? Have you been in it? I am deathly afraid of heights when there is no railing or support. Also, another question. I have made my appointment with the travel doctor and am starting to be concerned about vaccinations and anti-malarial meds. I use alternative practitioners and it freaks me out to get vaccines and take medication. I am resigned to the anti-malarial meds. Did you get any vaccines? Did you have any reactions to the anti-malarial drugs? I am concerned because my body reacts to so many foods and drugs. I appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply

