My Little Home in Cape Town

6 Jan

house-front-day-crop

 

Now that 2014 is here I am six months away from my departure to Africa. My first time ever to set foot on the “Dark Continent”. The centerpiece of my trip will be a 10-day safari in Botswana, but I will begin my adventure in Cape Town, South Africa. I have been reading over my itinerary, and know that I will be a long time in the air the day I depart. I have a 2 1/2 hour flight from St. Louis to Atlanta, then a 15-hour international flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg, South Africa, and then an additional 2 hour flight from Johannesburg to Cape Town for a total of 19 1/2 hours in the air. And I thought that 8 hours to Europe last summer was a trial. This will test my patience, endurance, and my muscles and joints. I feel the stiffness and discomfort just thinking about those cramped airplane seats. So…you can imagine my delight in knowing that this lovely bed and breakfast will be waiting for me at the end of my flights…Welgelegen. I’ve even found it on Google Maps and I’ve stood in front of it and looked all around 360 degrees.

house-front-2012-crop

Here is their website in case you wish to see more.

http://www.welgelegen.co.za/

11 Responses to “My Little Home in Cape Town”

  1. Heyjude January 6, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    It looks fabulous and good rates too! I hope you have booked a luxury room 🙂

    Gardens is a lovely area just beneath the mountain and overlooking the city bowl. I do hope you get to walk through the Company Gardens where you will find several galleries and museums. Just don’t walk anywhere at night!

    • Rosemarie January 6, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

      Yes, I booked a deluxe room. And I also know not to walk anywhere at night or alone.

    • Rosemarie January 6, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

      Yes, I booked a deluxe room. And I also know not to walk anywhere at night or alone.

  2. Angeline M January 11, 2014 at 3:11 am #

    This will be the prize waiting for you after those flights! It looks lovely!

  3. mflahertyphoto January 11, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    You’ll love Capetown, but it’s the surroundings not the city itself that are worth the time. Don’t miss taking a long walk along the water just east of town. Also there’s a must-do – drive up Signal Hill. You can see out over the ocean plus a great view of Table Mtn. (which is illuminated). Take a tripod for evening shots. The drive south along the coast is awesome. Plenty of shipwrecks. Walk down to the shore from the overlooks.

    • Rosemarie January 11, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

      Michael, I will be on guided tours so I don’t know how much flexibility I will have to take interesting photos. I have been told over and over that I should not go out walking alone at night, particularly as a single female. I will ask my safari company and the tour guides about your suggestions. They sound wonderful: long walk along water to the east, Signal Hill drive, south along the coast (Is that the drive out to Cape Point?) As always, thank you for your wonderful suggestions and insights. Rosemarie

  4. Cardinal Guzman February 20, 2014 at 1:02 pm #

    Cape Town is a wonderful city! I was lucky enough to visit it around 10 years ago.

    • Rosemarie February 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

      I am looking forward to my visit, my first time ever in Africa. However, I am not looking forward to the 15 hour flight between Atlanta and Johannesburg.

      • Cardinal Guzman February 20, 2014 at 1:18 pm #

        I flew via London. I watched so many movies on the flight back that they all turned into one blurry mess. In the end I had no idea which was which and I mixed up all the stories.

      • Rosemarie February 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

        I can believe that.

Leave a Reply

