Link

Going on a Safari

31 Dec

Going on a Safari

My blogging friend Mahree liked the photos I took on my European vacation last summer. She made a chance remark to me, “I can imagine what great photos you would take in Africa.” She works for a safari company and has spent a lot of time in Africa. I took note of her remark and stuffed it away in the back of my mind. I was planning Japan for my next trip abroad. And then Fukushima happened. Somehow the thought of all that radiation in the air and water took away my desire to go there. That little Africa seed in the back of my mind began to grow, and I started doing research. I was thinking Kenya, Tanzania, but I always loved The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series of books set in Botswana. Botswana won out, and I booked my safari with Mahree’s agency. I am happy and excited. Do you know that it takes 15 hours to fly direct from Atlanta, Georgia to Johannesburg, South Africa? That will be the longest flight I’ve ever taken, and it is only one of three I will have to take to get to my final destination. Here is a link to my upcoming safari in Botswana.

3 Responses to “Going on a Safari”

  1. mamacormier December 31, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    Wow, that sounds exciting. I, too, love the #1 Ladies Detective Agency series. When are you leaving?

    • Rosemarie December 31, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      July. I’ve got six months to work on my camera skills and I just bought a pair of binoculars with a gift card. The reading and research continues.

  2. CMFowler May 14, 2014 at 3:19 am #

    Reblogged this on Tales of Africa and commented:
    Many months ago, I discovered the amazing photography and writings of Rosemarie. I now consider her a to be a dear friend. You never know who you’re going to meet while blogging!
    Rosemarie actually ran out of room on her last site about her travels through Europe (one I highly recommend) and has started a blog entitled “Europe 2013…Africa 2014”. Follow her along as she prepares and embarks upon her first safari to Botswana! She includes some great links and already has gorgeous photographs. She has been practicing and has amazing wildlife photos already.
    I, for one, cannot wait to see what she captures on her safari.
    Cheers, Rosemarie!

Leave a Reply

