Image

Fall Break: ZOO-m Lens

22 Oct

Fall Break: ZOO-m Lens

Monday of fall break. I went to the zoo and for the first time I brought my zoom lens with my DSLR camera. I really want to go on safari, and this is the best way to get practice photographing animals in their natural habitat. I’d like to say that all the photographs I took turned out great, but not exactly. There were enough good ones to make today’s outing totally worthwhile. The tiger was a very good subject today.

I began my photo outing by having lunch at a wonderful Welsh pub where my son works. Dressel’s is a fixture in the Central West End of St. Louis. I had flash fried cauliflower, a curly endive salad with bacon and egg and a mustard dressing, and a lamb burger with chutney and black beans.

DSC_0573

Then off to the zoo in Forest Park. This grizzly was sunning himself.

DSC_0585

The pelicans were out in force. They maneuvered around the lake like a corps de ballet.

DSC_0596 DSC_0597

Then I visited the chimpanzees.

DSC_0631 DSC_0640

And the gorillas. The orangutans were so active today that I never could get a good shot of them. They were fascinating to watch swinging from ropes.

DSC_0648 DSC_0664

???? Maybe someone knows the name of this multi-colored bird.

DSC_0672

All of the bongos in Kenya were killed off. Eventually these bongos will be introduced to Kenya once more.

DSC_0689

????

DSC_0700

Very cute…a peccary.

DSC_0711

This giraffe was enjoying lunch.

DSC_0735

This Bactrian camel did not spit at me, but I think he had been spitting at other zoo guests.

DSC_0752

A puma at rest.

DSC_0761

The zebras.

DSC_0762

Snow leopard on the prowl.

DSC_0765

And back to the tiger cleaning his paws.

DSC_0778

A type of hornbill.

DSC_0780

A toucan with his toys.

DSC_0782

A type of starling, I believe.

DSC_0799

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree, merry, merry king of the bush is he.

Laugh, kookaburra, laugh, kookaburra, gay your life must be.

DSC_0802

In the primate house.

DSC_0834

Black rhino.

DSC_0848

Asian elephants.

DSC_0859 DSC_0864

As I walked back to my car, I passed the St. Louis Art Museum in the Alpenglow of the late afternoon sun.

DSC_0868

3 Responses to “Fall Break: ZOO-m Lens”

  1. Heyjude October 22, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    I’m not a huge fan of zoos, but some are much better run than others and we probably do need them to conserving species we (as in humans) are doing our best to destroy. Still they do offer opportunities to photograph elusive wildlife 🙂 Your first bird is a Carolina Wood Duck from North America. I first saw one in Stanley Park, Vancouver. The second is a Grey Crowned Crane from sub-Saharan Africa, very pretty. I love your hornbill!

    • Rosemarie October 22, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks for your knowledgable expertise on ornithology.

      • Heyjude October 22, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

        Just lucky that I have photos of those same birds 🙂

Leave a Reply

