Travel Destinations

29 Sep

Japan….African safari. I have never been to either place. Does anyone have comments or suggestions about these destinations?

5 Responses to “Travel Destinations”

  1. CMFowler September 29, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    Well, I could talk to you for weeks on end about Africa! I’ve been traveling to the continent since I was a little girl and can’t stop going back.My job title is “Safari Consultant” – I’m not kiddng! So, if you’d like to chat about Africa, I’d be happy to give you some advice.

  2. mflahertyphoto September 29, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    I spent a couple glorious nights visiting Kyoto (off a cruise). Japan is great, a little spendy, but great. An African safari is such a different kind of trip. I went for 3+ months about a year and a half ago. It was one of the most amazing trips I’ve done, if not THE most amazing. I will say both Zambia and Botswana were incredible for wildlife. Kruger N.P. in South Africa was the easiest to do a self-drive safari. You just rent a car in Jo’burg and off you go! You have to be careful not to go during one of that country’s holidays, or during their version of August vacation season (I believe it’s Jan. but check that). And in Kruger you’ll definitely see the Big Five, maybe all in one day! It’s a very different park than Kafue in Zambia, or the Delta in Botswana. Those have more a wilderness feel to them.

    • Rosemarie September 30, 2013 at 12:19 am #

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Mike. Three and half months? Wow! You must have seen a lot of wildlife. I keep hearing people say that a trip to Africa changes you. I’ve been checking into Tanzania trips with Kilimanjaro and the Olduvai Gorge. South Africa is probably easier to get to. I think there are flights direct from Atlanta to Johannesburg. If I decide on something, I’ll let you know on the blog. 🙂

      • CMFowler September 30, 2013 at 4:18 am #

        I absolutely agree with everything Mike said! There ARE direct flights to South Africa from New York, Washington D.C., and Atlanta. One of the greatest trips I went on was from Cape Town, then through the Winelands, up to the Sabi Sands area – where Kruger is (lower part), then to the Okavango Delta in Botswana, to Victoria Falls & back down to Cape Town, Right now there is a special South African Airways is having which is really good! But the time is restricted,. There is also a “6 country special” which saves you almost 50% in those Southern countries and you get to pick and choose where you want to go. There are also some time restrictions on that but the 2 coincide! I have access to special deals that come across my desk everyday if you’re interested. You may want to think about one of the private lodges in the Kruger area. There, you are allowed to go “off-road” and get close enough to look directly into the eyes of the wildlife And, you aren’t sharing the sighting with a bunch of other cars – which can be annoying!

      • Rosemarie September 30, 2013 at 4:30 am #

        You have great info. I am limited to the summer months for travel.

Leave a Reply

