Image

Some Local Photography

1 Sep

Some Local Photography

The Central St. Louis Public Library (downtown)

I returned from my big European trip about six weeks ago. I was only home a few days when the upper respiratory tract illness I contracted while hiking in the Dolomites returned with renewed fury and landed in my chest. I was quite sick, probably viral pneumonia. I wanted to use an antibiotic only as a last resort, so I went to our local Salt Room. I love it. You lie in a lounge chair in a room where the walls, ceiling, and floor are all Himalayan salt. The lights are dimmed. Soft music plays, and salt air is blown into the room. It is the most wonderful relaxing experience and it does wonders for the respiratory tract. It helped me beat this on my own.

This preface explains why I haven’t been posting on this blog anymore. I finished the account of my trip to Europe, and now I am back teaching voice at the university. There is not as much time available. However, last weekend I took my first photography outing since my return to the USA. I decided to visit the downtown public library in St. Louis. It has had a recent renovation and I wanted to see it. The St. Louis Public Library was the site of my very first job out of college. I worked as assistant music librarian for a year. Last weekend was my first visit since I left the position in 1971. Forty years gives you a whole new perspective. Look at some of my photos and see what you think…..

DSC_0412

The Entrance Hall

DSC_0415 DSC_0420

The Main Room

DSC_0423

Here is the newly renovated area. This used to be seven levels of musty old “Stacks”, the volumes kept in back that were not in public view. I used to go back there to retrieve scores for the reviewer of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch when he had to review local symphony concerts. All of those old books have been moved to another building opening this space for an atrium, a coffee shop, conference rooms, tech support and computers. What a facelift. There is also a new auditorium which was closed that day.

DSC_0427

The lovely old marble floors.

DSC_0429

Staircase to the lower level where I used to work.

DSC_0433

This is the old music room which now houses the young adult section.

DSC_0434 DSC_0440

Stained glass window over the staircase to the upper level.

DSC_0445 DSC_0447

Looking back down into the Main Entrance Hall.

DSC_0454

Something not to be forgotten: “The public school and the library render possible a perpetual education in the community.”

DSC_0458

20 Responses to “Some Local Photography”

  1. mamacormier September 2, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    This is as beautiful as the museums and art galleries you can find in Europe. Stunning! Glad you’re feeling better.

    • Rosemarie September 2, 2013 at 1:17 am #

      Thank you so much. I didn’t remember how beautiful the library was when I worked there. Of course, back then I think it had fallen into disrepair. I’m so glad they’ve given it a facelift.

  2. Linda Arthur Tejera September 2, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    What a beautiful library. They sure don’t build buildings like that anymore!

  3. mflahertyphoto September 3, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Gorgeous photos, and a very beautiful library.

    • Rosemarie September 3, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you for the compliment. It means so much to me coming from a pro like you. And yes, it is a grand old library.

  4. Heyjude September 6, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    So sorry you got ill on your return, how amazing though to have a ‘salt room’! Glad it did the trick. This library building is a wonderful and beautiful place and your photos certainly do it justice.

    Are you going to continue using this blog then Rosemarie – I lost the last of your trip because I didn’t swap to following you on here, so I will now make time to backtrack.
    Jude xx

    • Rosemarie September 7, 2013 at 1:03 am #

      Hey, Jude, I hope you enjoy the last part of the trip. In answer to your question: I don’t know. I currently have two active blogs. I do the photo challenges on my Edge of the Forest blog. Now that my vacation is over, I’m not sure what to do with that blog. I’ve thought that I might use it for future vacations, or in the meantime to use it to post photography junkets around town like the one to the library.

      • Heyjude September 7, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

        Sounds good to me. Just make sure you optimize your photos so you don’t run out of space too soon! I reduce mine to less than 500kb – they would be horrible printed, but look fine on the screen 🙂

      • Rosemarie September 7, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

        I don’t know how to do that.

      • Heyjude September 7, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

        What photo editing software do you have (if any)?

      • Rosemarie September 7, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

        None.

      • Heyjude September 7, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

        Did you get any with your camera? Often cameras come with some photo editing software (which most of us don’t bother too install) or you can use free software. I’ll have a think (I mostly use Office Picture Manager which comes with an old version of Office, but not the latest version). Do you use a PC or a MAC?

      • Rosemarie September 7, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

        I have a MAC.

      • Heyjude September 7, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

        OK. If you open a photo on screen the Preview window should open. Go to Tools and select Adjust size. You can then resize the image. I usually go for around 1000 pixels x 750 or thereabouts. See if this works 🙂

      • Heyjude September 7, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

        Hi Rosemarie – you can also use this online editing software, though I haven’t tested it on a MAC.

        http://pixlr.com/editor/

        If you go to image on the toolbar and select “image size” you can type in the width e.g. 1000 and make sure you check the “keep proportions”

        If the photo is portrait then make the length 1000. This should reduce the size.

        File, Save – it does allow you to change the name and save it wherever you want to so don’t worry about it overwriting the original.

        Perhaps you can check this out and see if it works on a MAC
        Jude xx

  5. Photography Journal Blog September 7, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Beautiful photos! I hope that you are completely well. Could you leave me a link to your Edge of the Forest blog?

Leave a Reply

