Image

Pride Parade Munich

19 Aug

Pride Parade Munich

Nine days. Pridefest in Munich goes on for nine days. I happened to be there on Christopher Street Day, named after the famous street in Greenwich Village in New York City. This was the day of the gigantic Pride Parade in Munich. I have many gay colleagues and friends and a gay son. In spite of this I had never before attended a Pride Parade. So this was the perfect oppotunity. My first Pride Parade  would be in Munich. It is a huge deal here. The parade route is long and many different groups are represented. The drag queens were amazing. The rainbow balloon guys really brightened up the street. I happened to be in Marienplatz as the parade was passing by.

DSC_0140

OMG Here was my group. Obama supporters! Grannies for marriage equality. I was ready to jump out into the street and march with them. Straight but not narrow.

DSC_0145

Get a load of those heels. The parade route went for miles. I can’t imagine walking in shoes like that.

DSC_0160

 

I realized that I had missed most of the parade, and Lucy told me that it would pass right by their apartment on Muellerstrasse. I headed back home to see the entire thing.

Here was the Lederhosen group dancing with Patschen and clapping.

DSC_0168

WOW

DSC_0172 DSC_0175 DSC_0178 DSC_0181

The Bavarians.

DSC_0183 DSC_0191 DSC_0196 DSC_0200

The Romans.

DSC_0202 DSC_0208

Check out the hair. That’s pretty awesome.

DSC_0213

 

Leave a Reply

