Image

Lazy Afternoon in the Englischer Garten

19 Aug

Lazy Afternoon in the Englischer Garten

A beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon. The people of Munich came out to enjoy nature in the middle of the city. And I was there too on my last free day (no travel) in Europe. Back in 1972 I apartment sat in Schwabing just off the Englischer Garten. It was important for me to retrace my steps and see the old neighborhood. Of course, it had changed in 40 years. There was no movie theater presenting Jane Fonda as Barbarella. The poster store on the corner was now an upscale art gallery. I did pass the block of apartments that had briefly been home to me.

The old poster store.

DSC_0217

The apartment building where I apartment sat.

DSC_0218 DSC_0219

Scenes in the Englischer Garten.

DSC_0221 DSC_0222 DSC_0225 DSC_0228 DSC_0229 DSC_0231 DSC_0238

A landmark in the park…the Chinese Tower.

DSC_0240

Monopteros.

DSC_0242 DSC_0244

Universitätsplatz where I caught the U-Bahn to head back to Lucy’s house.

DSC_0248

Leave a Reply

