Image

Does It Have to End?

19 Aug

Does It Have to End?

The wonderful and efficient trains of Europe. That is where I spent my last day on the Continent traveling from Munich to Zurich, Switzerland. Lucy and I went out walking to find Sunday breakfast and then she saw me off at the Hauptbahnhof. We have kept in touch. Her husband returned from his yearly hike with his buddies in the Dolomites. Unfortunately I didn’t get to see Rudi during this trip.

get-attachment-2

The train route to Zurich took me around the eastern and southern edges of the Bodensee. Lindau, which looked beautiful, and Bregenz where the lake seemed to stretch out to infinity. I had started my vacation three weeks earlier at the opposite end of the lake visiting my cousin in Konstanz, Germany.

DSC_0272 DSC_0273 DSC_0284 DSC_0288

I arrived on time in Zurich. My suitcase arrived with me. Three weeks earlier when I flew in from Chicago it had not arrived with me, but showed up a day later. Here was my final hotel…the Hotel City Zurich. I went out for a vegetarian dinner and passed on spending a night out walking around the city. I was tired, and I went back to my room.

DSC_0295 DSC_0297

You did it, Girl. You arranged your three week trip to Europe, and it was good. And kudos to you for hiking six days in the Dolomites and challenging yourself to celebrate 65 years.

DSC_0300

3 Responses to “Does It Have to End?”

  1. mamacormier September 8, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Congratulations. This is a trip you will never forget. So where will the next adventure take you?

    • Rosemarie September 8, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

      I’ve thought about it. Europe always draws me (the Continent). I find Iceland fascinating and it is only half as far. I’d like to go there in the spring and hopefully see the northern lights. I’d love to go to the tip of South America but I’m not sure that I could tolerate the long flight(s). It is much further than Europe. 7-8 hours to Europe, 12 to Rio. I wouldn’t mind visiting Japan but again the long flight seems prohibitive.

      • mamacormier September 9, 2013 at 12:56 am #

        Maybe you could break up the trip and do some stop overs. It would probably cost more but you could spend some time in another country or another state before reaching your final destination.

Leave a Reply

