Image

A Gem in the Residenz

18 Aug

DSC_0102

Here is the house of the beautiful Rococo-style Cuvilles Theater within the Residenz, the former royal palace of the Bavarian monarchs in Munich. It is one of a kind. The gold leaf, the red seats and draperies, the graceful horseshoe shape of the boxes. I had visited Munich four times previously, but had never been inside this theater. I love it.

Entering one of the courtyards within the Residenz.

DSC_0093

The covered anteroom to the theater.

DSC_0094

The proscenium arch.

DSC_0097

Boxes.

DSC_0098

The stage.

DSC_0099

The coat of arms of the Bavarian monarchs.

DSC_0100 DSC_0103

Another view of the house.

DSC_0104 DSC_0105

Moi.

DSC_0108 DSC_0112

Talk about deja vu…A choir was rehearsing Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana in this courtyard. When I heard the strains of music I was taken back to 1972 when I was dating a guy who was a member of the Munich Philharmonic. The orchestra and chorus were getting ready to perform the Carmina Burana. My friend  got me into the final rehearsal where composer Carl Orff was present giving guidance to the conductor. At the time Orff was in his 70’s and spry. He could scissor kick himself up onto the stage. I was impressed. So being here at this place with the familiar music playing, I felt I had come full circle.

DSC_0114

Outside Lucy directed my attention to the lion statue (there were two of them) and she instructed me to rub the bottom of the shield of both of them and to make a wish. You can tell from the shine underneath my hand that many people had done the same thing.

DSC_0121

Here is my friend Lucy standing in front of the Bavarian State Opera, where she has been a member of the professional chorus for many years. She can count among her friends the internationally renowned conductor Maestro Zubin Mehta.

DSC_0125

We headed back to the apartment using the U-Bahn, the Munich subway. There are very long and steep escalators to get to the trains. The Marienplatz station is a bright orange. I rode these trains first back in 1972 when they were brand new for the Munich Olympics.

DSC_0128 DSC_0129

Leave a Reply

