Image

Exquisite Lace and Signor Galuppi

12 Aug

DSC_0002

Burano is known for its beautiful lace and shops all over the island display and sell the filmy creations for personal use and for the home. And if they see you taking photographs they will chase you away. However, I did make some purchases at Emilia, so they allowed me to take some photos inside their store.

DSC_0001 DSC_0004 DSC_0005 DSC_0023 DSC_0024 DSC_0025 DSC_0026 DSC_0027 DSC_0041

And then there is Baldassare Galuppi. I am a musician with three degrees in the subject and have taken my share of music history courses. Baldassare usually only gets a line in the history book, a footnote, honorable mention. He was the kid from Burano who made a name for himself and brought a moment of musical glory to the island he called home. Not the same kind of fame that Mozart eventually brought to Salzburg, but that’s another story. Signor Galuppi lived roughly around the same time as Mozart. He was older by 50 years, lived a longer life, and died a mere six years before Mozart did. I realized after I found this monument to him, that I had just eaten lunch at Ristorante GALUPPI.

DSC_0042 DSC_0043

I guess I will have to find out why on this pedestal “vaghezza chiarezza” is written. Vagueness. Clarity.  Hmmmmm….

DSC_0044

 

 

Leave a Reply

