Image

Piazza San Marco

11 Aug

Piazza San Marco

I returned to Venice to take photos. I’m not sure why that was important to me…I love taking photographs, but I’m not sure why I was compelled to return to this water-y city. Anyway I took many photos…many. I’ll break them up into some general categories. The first group are photos taken around the Piazza during my two-day stay. I am very happy that the weather was so beautiful. Some friends of mine were in Venice this year during high water when the Piazza was flooded. Venice is sinking.

DSC_0774

Not sure what these statues are, but it looks like somebody is about to get stabbed.

DSC_0775

I marveled at the colors of the marble and the intricate stonework.

DSC_0776 DSC_0777

The clock tower and glockenspiel.

DSC_0778 DSC_0806

There are several cafes with bands who rotate playing at different times of the day.

DSC_0807 DSC_0811 DSC_0884 DSC_0886 DSC_0888 DSC_0889 DSC_0891 DSC_0892 DSC_0907 DSC_0909

 

2 Responses to “Piazza San Marco”

  1. Christopher Hanner August 11, 2013 at 2:40 am #

    It is so intriguing to see some of these photos of Venice, as I have just finished reading Dan Brown’s new book Inferno, and I can now better picture the places described in the book!

    • Rosemarie August 11, 2013 at 2:42 am #

      Venice is a beautiful city. I wish I had had a little longer to digest it, but I strode around madly snapping pictures to get everything I could in a short time.

Leave a Reply

