Image

Arriving in Venice

10 Aug

Arriving in Venice

This is the sight I was craving to see once more…the turquoise water of the Grand Canal, the gondolas, the spires of old churches, the elegant palazzos. It felt like eye candy and a beauty of a different flavor from the beauty of the Dolomites that I had just left.

My journey from Cortina in the Dolomites required travel by bus, train, and finally vaporetto to arrive here. Venice  Mestre was just a big busy train station with many people milling around. When we crossed the causeway to Venice Santa Lucia we could see the gigantic cruise ships docked to our right. Finally walking out of the stazione I saw the Grand Canal and the boats directly ahead. I boarded a vaporetto which was not nearly as crowded as they can be at prime times. I grabbed a shot or two as we proceeded to criss cross our way along the Grand Canal to St. Mark’s Square (which was close to my hotel). There were kiosks everywhere selling Carnevale types of souvenirs. And then for the first time since 1975 I saw the Doge’s Palace, the Campanile, St. Mark’s, and the pigeons.

DSC_0739 DSC_0744 DSC_0745 DSC_0749 DSC_0751 DSC_0763 DSC_0767 DSC_0769 DSC_0771 DSC_0772

2 Responses to “Arriving in Venice”

  1. Heyjude August 10, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    I was very impressed with Venice though I thought it couldn’t possibly live up to its hype. We only had a few hours there so didn’t go into any of the amazing buildings as the queues were so long. We will have to return in the winter I think when it is cooler and quieter. I hope you are going to tell us about the hotel you stayed in here.
    Jude xx

    • Rosemarie August 10, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Venice was very crowded with tourists, but I still found it very enjoyable. I did not go in the buildings either, but I had been in them many years ago and didn’t really care. Yes, I will tell you about my hotel and will include photos.

Leave a Reply

